Promoting Meetings like a Webinar

Managing Zoom Meetings like a Webinar

Many features (e.g., screen sharing, polling, recording) remain consistent across meetings and webinars. Below are key differences to consider:

Feature

Meetings

Webinar

 

 

 

Roles

Note: Host, Alternative host and co-host are the same for both meetings and webinar.

 

Participant: The controls of this role depend on the privileges the host has allowed them to have.

Panelist: Full participants in a webinar. This role can share content and answer Q&A.

 

Attendee: View-only participants that host can give further control to.

Capacity

300 seats available

500 seats available

 

Host Control

Hosts choose amount of control they want participants to have. They can disable participants privileges within the meeting.

Attendees begin the webinar as view only participants. They may be granted certain controls as the host sees fit.

 

Q&A

There is no Q&A feature. Hosts can use in-meeting chat for question-and-answer sessions.

Q&A can be enabled to allow hosts and panelists to answer questions privately or publicly.

 

Participant List

The participant list is viewable to all users attending the meeting and cannot be hidden.

The participant list can only be viewed by the host and panelists of the Webinar.

 

Configure Zoom Account: Go to Settings in your Zoom web portal and alter permissions that participants will have in the meeting

Basic Settings:

  1. Scroll down to the In-meeting (Basic) section and locate Screensharing settings

  2. Toggle On Screensharing to Host Only

Recording Settings: Go to Settings in the Zoom web portal and click the Recordings tab to ensure recordings are optimal for hosting a meeting like a webinar.

  1. In the Cloud recording section, select Record active speaker with shared screen

    1. Note: This setting ensures that speaker will always be displayed in the recording

  2. In Advanced cloud recording settings ensure that Display participants name in the recording is unchecked.

    1. Note: Disabling this option ensures that participants names will be protected and will not be visible when the recording is viewed by others

 

Scheduling Settings: While scheduling the meeting, enable the recommended options:

  1. Enable the Waiting Room to ensure that participants privileges are disabled before they join

  2. In the Video section select Off for Participant video.

    1. Note: Participants will join the meeting with video off but will still be able to turn it on unless the host revokes this privilege in the in-meeting settings

  3. In the advanced options of scheduling, check the Mute participants upon entry option.

    1. Note: Participants will join the meeting muted but will still be able to unmute themselves unless this privilege is revoked by the host in the in-meeting settings

In-Meeting Options: After starting the meeting, customize in-meeting settings to gain more control as the host.

  1. In the meeting control bar click the Security button

  2. In Allow Participants to, uncheck Share Screen, Chat, Unmute Themselves and Start Video

  3. This will change participant privileges and allow the host to have more control in the meeting

  4. Once privileges are revoked, admit all participants into the meeting from the waiting room

  5. When participants are admitted they will join the meeting muted and with their video off. Since you edited their privileges, they will not be able to unmute themselves or turn on their camera.

    1. Note: Co-hosts will maintain their privileges even when the host disables participant permissions in the meeting.

Chat as Q&A

In Zoom Meetings, only the Chat is available, but it can be customized to be used like a Webinar Q&A.

  1. Click the Chat button in the meeting controls

  2. In the Chat panel, click the three dots at the bottom to view more options

  3. In Participants can chat with you can choose between the following options to use the chat as a Q&A:

    1. If you want participants to only be able to send messages at a designated time in the meeting, select No One until you are ready to answer questions

    2. Select Host and co-host only if you would like participants to only be able to send questions to the host and co-host(s) of the meeting.

    3. Select Everyone Publicly to allow participants to send questions that all participants can view. Hosts can answer questions themselves or assign a co-host to answer them in the chat.

  4. You can change who participants can chat with at any time throughout the meeting.