How to remove old alias name from Cisco Secure Client 5 on Mac

Background:

When clients upgrade the current Cisco Secure client OR install it without completely cleaning up the old configuration files, Cisco chooses to keep the client profile and client’s preferences in the XML files, the old alias still points to the old VPN group/URL, manual deletion of the configuration files is required to remove the old alias and generate the new ones.

Workaround:

Step 1: Exit Cisco secure client application or stop the Cisco secure client process:

Example on Mac OS:

image-20240604-133302.png
image-20240604-133320.png

Step 2:
Two configuration files (ClientProfile XML and Preferences XML ) need to be deleted in the client’s operating system, they are stored in different locations in the system depending on the OS:

ClientProfile XML files are stored as below:

Please note that it requires admin privilege to remove ClientProfile XML file.

During the transition of the VPN migration, old alias and new alias could co-exist on your secure client, if the client accidentally removes a ClientProfile XML file that hasn’t been migrated, the new VPN URL will not work until it’s migrated, and the client will need to use the old VPN URL instead, the migration date of each VPN group will be announced in the IST Alerts.

Operating System

Location

Operating System

Location

Windows

%ProgramData%\Cisco\Cisco Secure Client\VPN\Profile\UW-Genral-SBL-v101.xml.xml

Mac OS

/opt/cisco/secureclient/vpn/profile/UW-General-SBL-v101.xml.xml

Linux

/opt/cisco/secureclient/vpn/profile/UW-General-SBL-v101.xml.xml

Preferences XML file is stored as below:

Operating System

Location

 

Operating System

Location

 

Windows

%LOCALAPPDATA%\Cisco\Cisco Secure Client\VPN\preferences.xml

 

Mac OS

/Users/$username/.anyconnect

/Users/$username/.vpn/.anyconnect

 

Linux

/Users/$username/.anyconnect

/home/$username/.vpn/.anyconnect

 

Examples on Mac OS:

Mac OS:

  1. Open the Finder, press Command + Shift + G, input the path: /opt/cisco/secureclient/vpn/profile/.

  1. Move the ClientProfile end with XML file extension to Trash.

  1. press Command + Shift + G, input the path: /Users/$username/, press Command + Shift + . to show all the hidden files.

  1. Move .anyconnect file under /Users/$username/ to Trash.

  1. press Command + Shift + G, input the path: /Users/$username/.vpn/.

  1. Move .anyconnect file under /Users/$username/.vpn/ to Trash.

Step 3:

Restart the secure client application on the system, and the dropdown list for VPN alias/URL will be reset to factory default.

Examples on Mac OS:

 

Need Help?

Contact the IST Service Desk online or 519-888-4567 ext. 44357.

Article feedback

If you’d like to share any feedback about this article, please let us know.